SCS Shines at CoC Awards Celebration

Alex Orso compressed
Mayur Naik compressed

The School of Computer Science (SCS) claimed 11 awards during the 25th Annual College of Computing Awards, which highlights outstanding students, staff, and faculty within the Georgia Tech computing community.

Held April 25 at the Klaus Advanced Computing Building, the event presented more than 35 awards in recognition of accomplishments made throughout the academic year.

“This celebration to recognize student, staff, and faculty achievements each year is vitally important to the life and community of the College,” Galil said during his remarks. “Congratulations to all of our award winners.”

Among this year’s SCS honorees are Sarah Miracle, who was presented the College of Computing Dissertation Award, Professor and Associate SCS Chair Alex Orso, who received the William A. Baird Faculty Teaching Award, Associate Professor Mayur Naik, who earned the Outstanding Junior Faculty Research Award, and Assistant Professor Hadi Esmaeilzadeh took home the Lockheed Inspirational Young Faculty Award.

“This year’s collection of SCS honorees displays the strides our department is making,” stated School of Computer Science Chair Lance Fortnow. “It’s a great pleasure to see our students and faculty members receive recognition for their contributions to the computer science field.” 

Also earning recognition at this year’s College of Computing awards was Dana Randall, ADVANCE professor and director of Algorithms and Randomness Center (ARC). For her work and commitment to the advancement of women in academic, scientific, and engineering careers, Dana received the Dean’s Award.

Congratulations to all the CoC Award recipients. For a full list of winners, past and present, please use the link provided below.

CoC Award Recipients List:




Devin M. Young

Communications Assistant